Was It Hard To Get a Vasectomy?

Nicole from Facebook asked me if it was difficult for me to get a vasectomy at my young age and given my childfree status. The answer is both yes and no, but we’ll go into a bit more detail here.

This is purely anecdotal evidence, but I will say this: I’ve talked to many men who had vasectomies younger than me. I’ve talked to someone who had a vasectomy as young as 19 years old, and several 21 year olds who had vasectomies. I think it largely depends on geographic location and, admittedly, what’s the dominant religion of that area. If the dominant religion is Catholicism, it’s probably going to be a lot harder.

I started seeking vasectomy at age 20. I went to several doctors in my hometown in Texas at the time. My hometown is very conservative Church of Christ, with 2/3 of the population being CoC. They take the “be fruitful and multiply” command very seriously, and are almost as conservative as Catholics in that regard. It was all but impossible for me to get a vasectomy there, and I talked to several doctors, but none of them would do it.

So I gave up temporarily and decided I’d try again in a couple of years. I was a virgin at the time and had no plans of having any sexual relations at all for awhile. When I moved to Idaho for my short stint as a graduate student (that lasted every bit of nine months), I got into my first serious relationship that turned sexual in a hurry. Luckily for me my girlfriend was naturally sterile, so it wasn’t that big of an issue. However, when we broke up, it was a real wake-up call for me that I really should get it taken care of.

So I scheduled an appointment with a urologist that specializes in the groundbreaking vasectomy technology known as “no-needle, no-scalpel” vasectomy (and I will post my experiences with this vasectomy method a little later). The doctor said he was also childfree by choice, understood my decision, and  I got absolutely no resistance from the doctor and he more than willingly operated on me. It was finally a done deal, much to my relief.

One last thing I should probably add is this: it’s much easier for the childfree man to get a vasectomy than it is for the childfree woman to get a tubal ligation. I think this is a bit of a gender equality issue, and I really think it shouldn’t be. The argument could be made that tubal ligation is a much more invasive operation, but why should doctors be able to tell us what we do with our bodies? I think there should be a law that states that doctors cannot refuse to sterilize someone on the grounds of the number of children they have (including none), or at the very least should require doctors to refer you to someone who will.

Are you a childfree man/woman who is sterilized? Share your experiences in the comments!

About coolchildfreeguy

Childfree guy living in Mexico City. Professional pilot by day, all-around fun guy by night.

Posted on December 4, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Great article. I’m glad you were able to have it done. I wish it was this easy for everyone. Tubals need to be this easy, also!

  2. Hey Lynn, thank you for answering my question. It’s always interesting to read about other people’s experiences with sterilisation.

    Much to my surprise, I didn’t have any problems being approved for tubal ligation. I was 29 when I spoke to my gynaecologist. She didn’t blink an eye and referred me to a surgeon. He didn’t blink an eye, either. The first thing he said to me at the appointment was, “I just read your referral letter, and I can have this done for you in 2-3 months.” I was sterilised just before my 30th birthday.

  3. I’ve heard that in other countries, it’s actually not as much of a problem for women to get sterilized and that the operation is even free. I was on the Happily Childfree page on Facebook the other day and I noticed someone mentioned it. I had to stare at it and read it over again. It just surprised me that much. So, there really is no excuse for the US not to do it. Just another thing that other countries provide and don’t give you a big problem over that the US has to fight every step of the damn way.

    • Traci, my procedure was free – Medicare covers sterilisation in Australia. I had to pay for consultations with my doctors, which came to $150-$200 after Medicare rebates.

      • That’s great, maybe I’ll move to Australia one day!! :p I wonder if you might be the person I saw commenting on Happily Childfree? That person that I mentioned in my above comment also had her procedure done in Australia. I think her name was Nicole, too. Or maybe I’m wrong. o.O; Either way, it would be awesome if they’d provide it for free here in the States, too.

    • Hi Traci, yep, that’d be the same Nicole – me. 🙂 And I highly recommend moving here. Nice place, nice people.

  4. I am so glad I’ve found your blog! It’s refreshing to see this topic from a male’s perspective (not just my husband’s…I was worried he was only agreeing with my decision out of “love” and would eventually resent me)

    I was 6 when I first told my mom I was never having children. I said it again when I was 23 and had moved to Texas. When I married my husband, I was 35 and he was 44, and we had both discussed the “No kids in this house” decision many times during our relationship. It wasn’t until I turned 37, and I (again) asked my gyno about the tubal ligation option because I really wanted to stop taking the pill, and I *finally* got the “Ok, you CAN do this, but there is a process involved.” statement that I’d been waiting my whole life for!

    Well, the process in New York is this: Patient requests procedure; Gyno details out all current (non-permanent) options available and risks of surgery; Patient signs off on knowledge of said options and still wants procedure; Gyno sends patient to a neutral 3rd party (in my case an Oncologist) to AGAIN explain all of the current, non-permanent options and risks of surgery; Patient and 3rd Party sign 5 copies of the same document to affirm this decision is being made “Of the patient’s free will”. Now I have 120 days in which to schedule the procedure and 6 months in which to have the procedure performed. If I cannot meet these time constraints, the process must begin again from the beginning.

    Fortunately my insurance DID cover the procedure, and I am now 100% guaranteed to NEVER, EVER have a normal pregnancy (I STILL have the risk of a tubal pregnancy because I still have my ovaries)

    After all this, I am relieved when my period starts because I STILL live in fear of being pregnant….WTF is that about??!!

    Finally, my husband reminds me of his happiness with our decision every time we are in public together and one of us gets the chance to say “Reason #742..3..4 or whatever!”

    • You know, for redundancy sake he can get a vasectomy just to make double damn sure no kids are produced.

      Seriously I admire kid free people, and if I didn’t ever fall pregnant with my daughter (Pill and broken condom baby) I bet I’d be child free right now. As it is, it happened, I got back with my husband, then had another kid. He got snipped. I know that if anything happens to him, I’m going under the knife for a tubal. NO MORE KIDS. I hated every minute of my pregnancies…Love my kids but they aren’t my world. Hell I lost out on a job because I was more than willing to toss my kids with a sitter..but he’s like “Nah it’s ok” >.< come ON!

      Support to the child free. I don't want to say Child LESS because that implies you're missing out. Meh. Yeah there's some things you miss out on but some things you don't. Both have their pros and cons.

  5. I am a childfree male. I had a vasectomy at 21. I had no problem getting it. I have no relidion problem with it either. I am a Buddhist, and there is no rule requiring us to procreate.

    I never once encountered a woman that said that she considered my vasectomy a “deal-breaker”. However, many parents, of those who I dated, resented me because they wanted grandchildren.

    Today I am 49, and married. My wife is happy that she need not risk her health by taking the pill.

  6. I had my vasectomy at 21. I had difficulty getting a vasectomy at 18, and at 20 mostly because I did not know how to ask.

    It was back in the 80’s. I had not yet heard the term childfree. Anyone spouting, “I do not want children” was considered either a mental case, or “immature” in the very Catholic community I lived in. I went to both consultations saying, “I do not like children. I am not a worthy parent”.

    Later, at 21, I went back to the same clinic as I did when I was 20. I made no mention of not wanting children. I was granted a surgery date! The rest is history

Leave a Reply

