10 Reasons Cats Are Better Than Kids

You know, this blog has been all serious since it started. It’s time for a light-hearted, humorous post. Since I’m a cat lover (I have three of my own), I compiled a list of 10 reasons why cats are better than kids.

1. You can actually get rid of a problem cat. Got a problem child? Sorry, you’re stuck with that kid for 18 years whether you like it or not.

2. Cats will actually leave you alone when you want to be left alone. Your kids? Sorry, they want your attention constantly and just can’t entertain themselves.

3. It takes months to potty-train a toddler. It takes days to litter-box train a kitten.

4. Cats are much less expensive to care for than children.

5. You don’t have to cook special meals on top of your dinner for a picky eater kid. All that your cat ever wants is a nice helping of his/herΒ favorite cat food. What could be easier?

6. You have to use your sick time to stay at home with your sick kid (thereby having to work when you’re sick). Your sick cat doesn’t require you to stay home with him/her when he/she is sick.

7. Going somewhere for the night? Feed and water your cat ahead of time and you’re done. No trying to find a babysitter!

8. Want to go on a vacation alone (or just with your spouse)? Nobody needs to watch your cats all day, just have your neighbor feed and water them. Again, much cheaper.

9. Cats won’t scream and cry and keep you awake at night. You can spend your sleep time actually sleeping!

10. No dealing with raging hormones (well, provided you get your female cats fixed, which you should be doing anyway).

About coolchildfreeguy

Childfree guy living in Mexico City. Professional pilot by day, all-around fun guy by night.

Posted on December 30, 2011, in Childfree, Parenting, Pets. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I think I want to get a cat now too πŸ™‚

  2. Julie Was Here

    LOL! πŸ™‚ Cats are great. I wish my landlord allowed them.
    I swear I wrote this same exact post, only with dogs.

  3. I’m a childfree cat person and I love your list! When the cat started waking us up too early for food, we got an automatic feeder to go off at 4am. I’ve heard you can’t do that with babies. I’m also a fan of the self-cleaning aspect of cats and the fact that I don’t have to save up for kitty’s college education.

  4. When the cat didn’t like my visitor, I put the cat into the attached garage (with cat bed,food, water, litter box).

    When I was on 4 day trip I left the cat with 3 litter boxes, food and water for 4 days.

  5. Sadly, I’m allergic to cats 😦 If I wasn’t, I’d probably have a couple.

    Cats are better than kids. also, because;
    11. Cats are cuter, both as a kitten and as an adult cat. End of.
    12. When you’re feeling poorly, most cats will come up and have a cuddle, or certainly will accept a bit of fuss to make you feel better. Kids couldn’t give a shit and will still demand, demand, demand and scream.
    13. Cats will not turn into horrible teenagers. They won’t take your car, or make you drive them everywhere. They won’t come and ask for cash all the time. They won’t throw a strop because you say no. They don’t answer back. Etc etc
    14. You don’t have to go through the horrors of pregnancy and chidbirth to have a cat.
    15. You don’t have to have “Postman Pat” on twenty times a day to passify them.
    16. A cat does not require you to buy a family-friendly car.

    I could go on!! But I think I might just write my own blog on it!

  6. Sorry, I meant “pacify”, not “passify” opps

  7. Cats are quiter and don’t talk back. Well, unless you count purring or the occasional meow when they want food or attention but meows and purrs sound cute, unlike a screaming, demanding child!

Leave a Reply

