“Who’s Going To Take Care Of You When You’re Old?”

I have to admit, there are certain questions that the childfree are asked that will just never die. The question of who will take care of us when we’re old is one that irks me beyond belief. As if creating a little human being for one’s entertainment wasn’t selfish enough (let’s face it, that’s what people who want kids do), this reason takes the cake when it comes to the most narcissistic and selfish reasons to have kids. That said, I’ve been asked this question enough to know how I personally respond to it.

So who’s going to take care of me when I’m old? Quite frankly, me! I take good care of myself. I’ve actually recently upped my fitness regimen because I’m trying to qualify for the PBA and I need to be in tip-top physical condition. I run close to 70 miles per week, I do plenty of strength training, and I eat a super-healthy diet. I don’t smoke, drink, or do drugs. I take good care of myself so that nobody will have to take care of me. That’s the point.

Quite frankly I can’t imagine living a life where someone has to take care of me. I think I’d rather just kick the bucket if I had to rely on someone to perpetuate my existence. Quite frankly that’s just living (as in being alive), and not really living (as in being able to enjoy life to the fullest). I decided a long time ago that I want to be independent right up until the very end, and that should it ever come to the point I can’t be, to let me pass on in peace and with dignity.

So I guess, for me, it’s a non-issue. I’m sure some other CF people out there have their own responses to this, but that’s my response. I just don’t want or need people to take care of me! I can take care of myself, thank you very much!

About coolchildfreeguy

Childfree guy living in Mexico City. Professional pilot by day, all-around fun guy by night.

Posted on January 6, 2012, in Childfree, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. There’s another important reason why this is such a loaded question. People who ask this question usually assume that children are the answer to this question. Unfortunately, it’s a bad answer because there’s no guarantee that your children will look after you when you get to that age, not to mention if they might even be able to do so. Children are NOT obligated to look after their parents when they get older, and it might even be in reverse; some kids leech off of their parents for life.

Leave a Reply

