Rick Santorum on Birth Control

I don’t much follow American politics anymore since I haven’t lived there in a long time and have no intentions of ever going back, but I was talking to my friend Natasha from back in the States last night and she mentioned something absolutely horrifying to me last night. She told me that she heard that Rick Santorum supports giving the States the right to outright ban any form of contraception other than abstinence and NFP.

When she told me this I think my jaw dropped three feet. I absolutely could not believe what I was reading at first, but then when I thought about it for a second it makes sense. Rick Santorum is a staunch Roman Catholic with 7 kids and probably more to come. As is typical of Roman Catholic politicians, they want “Vatican Law” instituted in whatever country they’re campaigning in (though ironically my country is extremely socially liberal, despite being 80%+ Catholic). In that light, it’s no suprise that Santorum is extreme anti-choice, anti-gay marriage, and even thinks gay relations should be criminalized, but I digress.

I don’t even want to imagine a world where birth control is outlawed. For one, what would happen to someone like me? I had a vasectomy a year and a half ago. Does that mean he thinks I should be forced to undergo vasectomy reversal surgery? If so, that’s almost as scary as the vaginal ultrasound law some states are trying to get passed for abortion (I’ll probably blog on that later, because that’s total crap as well). Subjecting all sterile-by-choice individuals to invasive surgery against their will is both repulsive and quite frankly unconstitutional, though truth be told when did the US Constitution matter to American politicians?

Among other consequences I’d hate to see the sudden overflow of children in adoption centers and orphanages due to the lack of birth control. You want the number of unwanted children who will NEVER get adopted to increase? Take away birth control. Seriously, that’s exactly what would happen. We childfree people aren’t going to stop being childfree, no matter what the law says. I refuse to be a parent, and that’s that; period, end of story. I’m a firm believer that every child should be a wanted child. As it is, that’s already far from the case, and it’s a very sad reality. I might not want any kids of my own, but my heart breaks when I see the millions of unwanted kids in adoption centers. Every kid deserves a loving home, and I refuse to believe otherwise.

One last thing I’d like to point out is this. Banning birth control isn’t going to make it go away. Remember what happened when the decided to prohibit the sale and distribution of alcoholic beverages? Crime skyrocketed and it created a “black market” for alcohol. I’m afraid a prohibition of contraceptives (whether it’s the pill, condoms, IUDs, sterilization, or whatever) will create a black market for it. People will be smuggling these things in, and be doing back-alley vasectomies and tubals, much the same way back-alley abortions are the reality of countries that prohibit abortion. If that picture doesn’t give you nightmares, you have some serious issues.

Oh, but Santorum doesn’t really oppose contraception; oh no! So-called NFP and the “rhythm method” apparently are OK. Yeah, if you want an unplanned pregnancy, use these methods. The RCC and other NFP-supporter boneheads love to claim that NFP is like 99.5% effective, which I absolutely have to call bullshit on. What they aren’t telling you is this: NFP works on the premise that women can only get pregnant during certain times on their cycle. As anyone with any basic health education or sex education knows, this is a blatant lie. A woman can get pregnant at any time during her cycle, including during her period! You might as well be getting ready to empty out your emergency fund if you use NFP, because a baby will be on the way! Seriously, NFP is a total fucking joke, and anyone with half a brain realizes that.

I guess in the end, it comes down to personal autonomy. The government has no right to impose children on the childfree, just as religious institutions have no right to impose religion on non-consenting individuals. The above situation would be the scary reality of what would happen is all forms of contraception besides NFP were criminalized. Alas, that’s the reality of organized religion: they think their religious values should rule over everyone. Further, Rick Santorum’s stance on birth control is a prime example of the dangers that religion pose to modern, civilized society. I hope to the non-existent sky daddy that he doesn’t get elected, or else my American CF friends might be in for it, because you KNOW he’s going to abuse his powers and institute all of these things as executive orders and bypass congress entirely. *Shudder!*

About coolchildfreeguy

Childfree guy living in Mexico City. Professional pilot by day, all-around fun guy by night.

Posted on February 18, 2012, in Childfree, Medicine, Men's Health, Parenting, Politics, Religion, women's health. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Sounds like Ceausescu.

  2. Just out or curiosity, did you leave America because of a certain reason/s or just wanted to a new adventure?

    • I left for a number of reasons. Everything from the greed-driven and theocratic political system to the culture and even the people. I did not like living in the US one itty bitty bit, and in fact I loathe that place with every fiber of my being, so much in fact that when I got here I made the bold move of officially renouncing my US citizenship. Yeah, I’m actually stateless now (i.e. I have no citizenship in any country).

      I knew since I was in high school that I wanted to leave the States, truth be told. As it is, I still find myself traveling back to the States every now and then for work, so sometimes I have no choice but to enter that country for short spurts sometimes.

      • Maybe you could write a blog post about how you went about moving, the reasons you left, if it was worth it, and any other information you’d like to share. It’s sort of childfree related since we can more easily consider moving overseas as an option if we don’t agree with the US gov’t, don’t enjoy American culture, or just want a new experience. That’s just an idea.

  3. Uh. I’m just stating the facts here, not the religious unscientific bullshit you spew forth. Just because your non-existent “god” says something doesn’t make it so.

  4. Wow I can’t believe that there are enough brainwashed idiots that voted Rick Santorum into office! That in and of itself is scary! And that goes for other like minded politicians who have no concept of reality and common sense. Yeah Santorum does sound like Ceausescu. Maybe he will meet a similar demise when enough peoplefinally stand up to him for his backwords rheteric.

Leave a Reply

