Tax Breaks (And Other Government Money) For Having Children = Bullshit

You know, if it’s another way the childfree get shafted it’s in tax law. Sure, legally we childfree couples do have the ability to file jointly on taxes. It’s always been that way and I don’t see it changing anytime soon. However, that’s about all the tax breaks the childfree get, because childed couples get a really unfair tax break: the “having children” tax break as I call it.

Yes, I understand that children are expensive. As I’ve mentioned on here many times over, the latest figure for the cost of raising a kid for 18 years is just under a quarter of a million US dollars. That said, along with having children comes the financial responsibility for that children. If you can’t afford to raise a child, you should not have kids and if you do have them, should have them taken away. I’m 100% opposed to any form of government assistance with the cost of raising a kid, and that includes tax breaks. I don’t want MY tax dollars being used to raise the kids I didn’t want to have. In essence, I’m paying to raise other people’s kids the way I see it.

Now, obviously, there is one exception to the above. If you are truly and honestly disabled and can’t work for whatever reason, then fine. That is entirely reasonable. It’s not someone’s fault if they have a debilitating illness or condition that makes it impossible for them to work, and I actually have some compassion for these people.

However, for people who are perfectly capable of work, I don’t want to hear it. You chose to take on the financial burden that having a child comes with when you decided to have a kid. I don’t give a damn if you have to work three jobs to make ends meet, you do what you have to do. Forget tax breaks and other government handouts just because you wanted children for your own selfish desires. I’m tired of it.

About coolchildfreeguy

Childfree guy living in Mexico City. Professional pilot by day, all-around fun guy by night.

Posted on March 11, 2012, in Bullshit, Childfree, Finance, Law, Parenting, Politics. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Amen, our money has the potental to be used in better ways, and its unfortunate as hell that we have no choice in this matter.

  2. Agree completely! When people are genuinely not able to work I can accept that! When people have paid their taxes for many years & been made redundant, actively seeking another job I can accept that as it’s their right & deserving of it, however I can’t stand people who state they do well budgeting their money, a child’s not that expensive, have savings, can go on a holiday each year etc but they forget that actually it’s people who work & earn who’s paying for it!!!
    It’s People who claim as an independent parent, have a partner physically fit & able to wrk who choose not too yet are crafty collecting the benefits!

    If be very ashamed if I was on benefits as a result of being lazy or choices, knowing that my friends & family who work hard are paying for my lifestyle!

    • Agree completely! When people are genuinely not able to work I can accept that! When people have paid their taxes for many years & been made redundant, actively seeking another job I can accept that as it’s their right & deserving of it, however I can’t stand people who state they do well budgeting their money, a child’s not that expensive, have savings, can go on a holiday each year etc but they forget that actually it’s people who work & earn who’s paying for it!!!
      It’s not their money, it’s not earned! They are not looking after themselves!
      We are looking after them!!!
      It’s People who claim as an independent parent, have a partner physically fit & able to wrk who choose not too yet are crafty collecting the benefits!

      Id be very ashamed if I was on benefits as a result of being lazy or from my personal choice to have kids, knowing that my friends & family who work hard are paying for my lifestyle!

Leave a Reply

