A Little Bit More About Me

So one other person said they wanted to learn more about me personally. Seeing as how I have several new readers on board now and a lot more people following, I felt this was an appropriate topic. So here’s a little bit more about me.

Personal:

Most people call me “LG” for my first two initials as I have a rather girly first name and my middle name sucks (curse you mom and dad), though I will answer when called by my first name (Lynn) as well and don’t mind either. I’m 25 years old and am an American expatriate residing in Mexico City, Mexico with my mother and youngest sister who joined me here several months after I left. I’m a corporate pilot flying Cessna Citation X aircraft for a corporate flight department and am also a Certificated Flight Instructor.

Education:

I received a Bachelor of Science degree in mathematics in 2008 from a small private university in Texas, and I have a partially completed Masters Degree in math (that will stay “partially complete”) as well. I have an Airline Transport Pilot License (2011) with type ratings in the Boeing 737 and the Cessna Citation X. I’m also a Certificated Flight Instructor/Instrument Instructor/Multi-Engine Instructor (2012).

Interests and Hobbies:

I have a wide variety of interests and hobbies. My favorite hobby is ten-pin bowling and I am currently attempting to qualify for PBA membership. I’ve been an active musician for the last 12 years and I play guitar, bagpipe, mandolin, and tin whistle, though I’m a mediocre-at-best singer. I also enjoy many types of dance, distance running, disc golf, and listening to a wide variety of music (I like pretty much anything except classical and the rap “family” of music).

Childfree Status:

I don’t recall any time at all in my life that I’ve wanted children. About the time I was 10 years old I found myself getting increasingly annoyed with my classmates and they drove me nuts. It was about that time that I firmly made up my mind to be CF. 15 years later at age 25, I’m still CF as ever and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Other Random/Interesting Facts:

I have an INTJ personality and express all of the traits of the personality type in a very pronounced and very powerful way. I’m a huge fan of the Harry Potter series, but I hate reading so everything I know about the storyline I got from the movies. I also haven’t read a novel since my senior year of high school and have no intentions of doing so. I have a particular love affair with 70s/80s style short shorts and that’s the only style of shorts I wear (I refuse to wear anything longer than a 3″ inseam); some of my other favorite fashion items include polo shirts, kilts, automatic watches, and eyeglasses. I have acrylic nails on my right thumb, index, middle, and ring fingers for guitar-playing purposes. We have three cats, a hamster, a corn snake, and a Beagle/Australian Shepherd mix puppy as pets. My youngest sister wants to follow in my footsteps as a professional pilot and I’m currently acting as her own personal flight instructor.

Well, there’s a look into who I am and my life! I think this was probably long overdue as most of you probably didn’t know all of that.

About coolchildfreeguy

Childfree guy living in Mexico City. Professional pilot by day, all-around fun guy by night.

Posted on April 15, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

