Update On Little “Baby Z”

So it’s been two and a half weeks since our little baby Doberman came home to be with us. Needless to say I’m feeling worn out like a beaten dog (no pun intended). Feeding into the wee hours of the night, cuddling with him, holding him, etc. It’s been no easy task to care for the little guy.

At first we weren’t sure he was even going to make it. He was so skinny and didn’t look so good when he was first brought home. He’s since tripled in size easily, now weighing over 2 pounds. It’s amazing how fast they grow.

For me, however, the big turning point wasn’t until this past Friday. I was off work on Friday so I had the task of the morning feedings. Well, as I was feeding him at 12:30 PM (not exactly morning, I know) as I got done and started cleaning his face I befell a sight so beautiful it literally moved me to tears. As I was cleaning his face after the feeding, he opened his eyes for the first time. I literally watched the entire thing. It was the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen, really. I cried like a baby for a good half hour or so.

I have to say it’s probably been good for me to do this. For one, I have a better appreciation of what parents of human children go through. I know it’s not the same, but the level of dedication and work is pretty comparable. Two, it’s taught me a lot about responsibility and maybe even a little bit about the bond parents share with their children. That’s not to say I want human children, absolutely not (and truth be told had it been me that was approached, I’d have probably refused to take on a newborn puppy and really don’t desire to take on another one), but I can better understand the joy people get from their children. I will admit though, I form bonds with animals/pets much more readily than I form bonds with people. They’re less annoying and way cuter than people. 😉

So yeah, in that light, this experience has helped me grow. I may want to do this again sometime down the road, but not anytime soon. I’d like to do it with a kitten though, since I’m more of a cat person than a dog person. Maybe I’ll get the chance?

Isn’t he precious?

About coolchildfreeguy

Childfree guy living in Mexico City. Professional pilot by day, all-around fun guy by night.

Posted on May 6, 2012, in Parenting, Pets. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. >Isn’t he precious?

    Is that even a question? ❤

Leave a Reply

