RIP Zeus AKA “Baby Z” (Our Dobie)

Just when it seemed like our beloved Baby Z was going to turn into a healthy, happy, big Doberman, things took a turn for the absolute worst yesterday early morning.

He woke up at 2 AM yesterday morning screaming and crying like I’ve never heard him before. I just thought he was extremely hungry so I made him a bottle. Well, I couldn’t have been more wrong. I picked him up and he was extremely hot, had no appetite, and shortly after he threw up on me. Fever + no appetite + vomiting? That’s a classic presentation of parvo. I didn’t want to even think of our baby having parvo, but I rushed him to the Animal ER anyway, and the tests did in fact confirm parvo and he was admitted to the hospital.

Aggressive treatment was started, but it wasn’t enough, as this was no ordinary case of parvo. The vet said that this was one of the most aggressive, fastest progressing cases he’s seen in his entire career. Even with early detection and aggressive treatment, Baby Z lost his battle just 29 hours after the initial symptoms appeared. He passed away at 6:52 AM this morning.

Words cannot describe the pain and the sense of loss I’m feeling right now. I spent many hours feeding him, cuddling him, playing with him. I sacrificed many hours of sleep to make sure he had a full tummy and was comfortable. I even took him to work with me on several occasions to care for him while my mom and sister were away doing something and unable to watch him, where he would lie down and sleep between me and the First Officer up in the cockpit.

However, even though my heart aches, I feel a tiny sense of relief knowing that he’s no longer suffering and that we gave him a shot at life. We gave him the loving care that every puppy deserves. If not for us, he’d have likely died a lot sooner.

Though this saga has a sad ending, I have no regrets. I learned so much caring for Baby Z, and not just about puppies/dogs, either, but about the sacrifices parents make for their human children. It’s given me a greater appreciation for my mother, and dare I say it, my father (as disgusting of a man as he was). It’s given me a greater respect for all the good parents out there. Above all, the experience taught me a thing or two about unconditional love. For these reasons, I’d gladly do it all over again, and maybe one day I’ll be able to. Not for awhile though, since I think we all need to allow ourselves ample time to grieve before we do.

RIP “Baby Z” 4/16/12-5/17/12. Forever in our hearts. We’ll never forget.

 

About coolchildfreeguy

Childfree guy living in Mexico City. Professional pilot by day, all-around fun guy by night.

Posted on May 17, 2012, in Pets. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I’m so sorry for your loss.

  2. My heart breaks for you! You did, indeed, give the little guy a shot at life he otherwise wouldn’t have had. I encourage you, when you’re ready, to invite another 4-legged, furry critter into your life, even if it’s just a fostering situation. It’s a lot like having kids, but you get to improve them and pass them on to the perfect home when you’re done. The rewards are unspeakably amazing.

  3. I’m so sorry. I’m in tears over here. At least you were there to give Z a family he wouldn’t have had otherwise.

Leave a Reply

