The Vasectomy Chronicles: Q&A

I figured I’d respond to some common questions I get about my vasectomy experience. So here we go.

Q: How hard was it for you to find a doctor to agree to give you a vasectomy?

A: Not at all. Yeah, I was turned down at a couple of places, but that’s OK! There are plenty of doctors out there who are willing to sterilize a childfree man (same can’t be said for childfree women, unfortunately), so don’t ever think you’re out of luck. If worst comes to worst, contact your local Planned Parenthood (if you’re in the US) who will usually be able to refer you to someone. If you want a vasectomy, you can get it, regardless of your age or parental status.

If worst comes to worst, lie to your doctor. I know one guy who eventually told one doctor he had three kids by three different women (he was without children) just to get the procedure done. They can’t play detective or investigate this claim (as such would be a violation of privacy), so keep that trick in your bag. You may need to call on it.

Q: Were you nervous before the surgery?

A: Not really. I’d had surgery before so I wasn’t that nervous. I was also too drugged up to really give a damn honestly! Yes, I was aware of my surroundings and conscious, but I didn’t give a damn. I was calm and collected through the entire thing.

Q: Does it hurt?

A: Well, I won’t say it hurts. Some parts are a bit uncomfortable (you can feel them tugging on your plumbing) but it doesn’t hurt. The most painful part of the whole thing was the anesthetic, and that wasn’t even that bad either. Of course, my doctor did the advanced no-needle/no-scalpel procedure, so the anesthetic was delivered via jet injection, which is about as painful as a rubber band pop. Other than that, there was no real pain.

Q: What about post-op?

A: The post-op is a bit painful, but nothing unbearable. They tell you to wait a week to resume your normal activities, but I didn’t. I felt well enough the next day to resume my regular exercise regimen. Yes, you’re going to be sore, but for the most part the pain is bearable and manageable with OTC pain relievers.

Q: How much did it cost?

A: It would have been about $1,000 had I paid out-of-pocket. My insurance at the time covered it, so I had a $200 co-pay from what I remember. Most insurances cover it these days. It’s actually quite economical.

Q: Did you notice any change in your sex drive?

A: Yes, I did. My sex drive improved! After I was officially declared sterile and no longer had any fear of accidentally getting a girl pregnant, my sex drive kicked into overdrive! Since I could now enjoy worry-free sex, I wasn’t afraid to engage in it. Before vasectomy, I was afraid to have sex for fear of getting a girl pregnant (which, in turn, killed any sex drive I had). Now I have sex all the time. I’d say that’s an improvement.

Q: How long did you have to wait before you were declared sterile?

A: I had to give two “empty” semen samples before I was officially declared sterile. That said, they normally tell you to wait three months. This is pretty standard practice now.

Q: You’ve mentioned you still wear a condom when engaging in sex. If you’re sterile, why is this?

A: That’s an easy one. While vasectomy is the single most effective method of contraception, it does nothing to prevent the transmission of STDs. Condoms do. That’s why I wrap it up.

Q: What if you change your mind?

A: I’ve considered myself childfree since I was a little kid. I don’t recall any time in my life that I’ve wanted to be a parent. As I’ve felt the same way ever since I can remember, the odds of me changing my mind are zero. That said, just to play along, I will say this: I feel that I would be better suited to adopting an older child. I couldn’t handle a baby and I definitely don’t need to be contributing to the overpopulation problem.

About coolchildfreeguy

Childfree guy living in Mexico City. Professional pilot by day, all-around fun guy by night.

Posted on July 20, 2012, in Childfree, Medicine, Men's Health, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. How old were you when you had your vasectomy done? I’m planning to get one in my early twenties or so, and I’m afraid a lot of doctors will turn me down for being too young. It’s either this or RISUG, because I cannot for the life of me ever risk having a child by anything more than a tiny margin (for ethical reasons).

    • I was 23. Like I said, there are doctors who will honor your request. Depending on where you live, some sort of public health service should be able to refer you to a doctor who will (or might even provide the service themselves). Good luck.

Leave a Reply

