No Kids After 9 PM At My Roller Rink: We’re Winning!

I’ve recently gotten really into rollerblading. Just running all the time was getting boring and I was looking for something to spice up my workouts just a little bit, and after awhile of thinking and looking around it hit me. Alas, I’ve been enjoying it and have even joined a local skating club. The best part about it? No kids after 9 PM!

Little things like this just remind me that while this world is still very kid-friendly, there are more and more kid-free options popping up all the time. Now, the skating rink I go to isn’t exactly kid free, but I’m content to just avoid the hours kids will be there and wait for the kid-free time. Even so, this particular rink isn’t exactly kid-friendly anyway. It’s got a very bar-like atmosphere to it, and the times I’ve been by there during the day there usually aren’t but one or two kids anyway. We have plenty of other more “family friendly” (god I hate that term) skating rinks, so they tend to frequent those. Whatever keeps the little brats out of my hair, I suppose.

I guess what I’m saying is don’t despair. More and more businesses are seeing the profitability of adult-only environments and are catering to them. All the businesses with brat bans in place are actually doing quite well, and some of them have seen an increase in profits. I think this trend will continue and we’ll continue to see more options popping up. Just the fact that businesses are listening to us, I think, means we’re winning the war. It’s also evidence that being childfree may be becoming a little more socially acceptable than it has in years past. We can only hope.

About coolchildfreeguy

Childfree guy living in Mexico City. Professional pilot by day, all-around fun guy by night.

Posted on August 11, 2012, in Childfree, Life, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

