My Secret To A Fun, Exciting Life

I was talking to a parent friend the other day and she mentioned what an exciting and fun life I have. Well, she’s right! I’m out there living it up and living the good life. Bowling in two leagues per week, rollerblading, disc golf, play dates with mine and my friends’ dogs, traveling all over the place for quarter peals, peals, and ringing workshops, among my other many hobbies and interests. She then asked me what my secret was to having such a great life, and when I told her what it was, well, needless to say I made her rather angry. 😛

What is my secret? Well, most of you should already know by now that my secret to having such a fun life is  being childfree, of course! Not having any children to tend to means I have so much more time to engage in the things I love. I don’t have worry about having to find a babysitter to go out for a night of fun, or even worse, having to stay home because I can’t find one. I can leave for a weekend without consequence (of course, first arranging boarding for my pets, usually with a friend). Being childfree just allows me to do what I want, when I want, and have nobody else to worry about!

I think one of the sad realizations that new parents have is they no longer have this luxury. “Postpartum depression?” I highly doubt it’s a legitimate hormonal/chemical/whatever disorder. I think it’s more than likely a result of new mothers realizing that the once great life they had is gone, and that by the time they have the opportunity again, they’ll be too old to fully enjoy it, instead of really living up when they’re in their “prime.”

Of course, I didn’t mean to anger my dear friend or anything, I was just being truthful. While parents are busy tending to their children every waking moment of every day, we childfree people are out and about living life to the fullest and enjoying the finer things in life. Parents say they don’t envy us, but I see right through that smokescreen. I know they envy us, and you can tell by their tone of voice, and even “breeder bingo” is strong evidence of that. They have to justify their decisions despite the fact their lives have largely, dare I say it, been ruined by their new obligations.

So there you have it. My secret to living the good life is no secret at all. Childfreedom is the key to a fun, exciting life, and that’s the bottom line.

About coolchildfreeguy

Childfree guy living in Mexico City. Professional pilot by day, all-around fun guy by night.

Posted on August 29, 2012, in Childfree, Life, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Haha! The truth hurts but it is still the truth. Parents false pride in self created unnecessary “responsibility” is a hilarious thing to see. 🙂

    You will live longer, be healthier, happier, and stress free! And help planet earth by conserving resources. You should be rewarded with tax benefits!

  2. You’re damn right! I have nothing to add.

Leave a Reply

