Misconceptions About Childfree People #1: We’re Boring

I’ve decided to do a few posts about some misconceptions some outsiders seem to have about people who identify as childfree. These will come from a number of sources, be it things that have been said to me personally, comments I’ve read, and a few other sources. Today’s topic will be “boring.”

I’ve read a few comments here and there that suggest that childfree people are boring, and that all we ever do in our downtime is drink, go to the bar, go clubbing, or whatever variation you want thereof. Of course, as you and I know, that’s not the case at all, and we are more exciting people than that.

Well, speaking for myself, I don’t drink so that description does not apply to me at all. I do go to a night club about once per week to show off my less-than-stellar vocal skills at karaoke night, usually as a designated driver (all the free non-alcoholic drinks I want!) and, again, just to sing karaoke. I suck at it, but it’s a ton of fun to do.

So if you were to hang out with me for a day (on Fri-Sun, my days off), what would a day with me be like? We’d probably go rollerblading in the park (or you could just walk with me if you’re too scared to get into a pair of skates), I’d take you to a couple of my favorite local eateries, we’d go bowling together, and take part in some other good, clean, fun activities we agree upon (local band playing somewhere, maybe the community symphony, you know things of those kinds). If you’re real nice to me, I might even take you up flying in like a Cessna 172, and, if you’re even nicer to me, I’d even let you fly the plane for part of the time (as a qualified instructor pilot, I can get away with that!), with me keeping a watchful eye on you of course.

Does that sound like a boring day to you?  I didn’t think so! Whereas some CFers idea of “fun” may be sitting around and drinking all day (which I agree that’s EXTREMELY boring!), we’re not all like that. In fact, I’d say that a majority of us are fun-loving people who like to live it up and get out there and have a good time. That’s the true face of the childfree community, right there.

About coolchildfreeguy

Childfree guy living in Mexico City. Professional pilot by day, all-around fun guy by night.

Posted on September 22, 2012, in Childfree, Life. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Great post, Lynn!

  2. Well, I guess to people who spend the majority of their time talking about, taking pictures only of, and centering their lives completely around their kids and think that’s awesome fun might consider anything other than that to be boring! :p

  3. childfree people are boring?! really ? i just cracked myself up. Have you ever talked to a breeder they are so obssessed with babies that talking about some other thing other than poo and vomit is a challenge. And if someone tries to change the subject they mommyjack the conversation… Childfree people .. boring yeah right look who’s talking! *cleans her tears from so much laughing!*

Leave a Reply

