(Not So?) Happy Halloween

Ugh, this is probably the worst day of the year to be childfree. Little snotty-nosed kids (and sometimes their parents!) dressed up in stupid costumes going door-to-door asking for tooth-rotting, pound-packing goodies. Ugh, gag me with a spoon!

So what do you CFers do on this dreaded night? I know what I do, I don’t buy candy, I lock the door, I turn out the porch light and don’t answer the door. Of course, the dimmed porch light is assumed to be the universal “don’t come knocking on my door” sign, but some people don’t heed it and it annoys the shit out of me.

I don’t know, maybe I’m in the minority here and you all enjoy it. I know I don’t, though.

So what do you guys do on this night?

About coolchildfreeguy

Childfree guy living in Mexico City. Professional pilot by day, all-around fun guy by night.

Posted on October 31, 2012, in Childfree. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I’m working nights tonight. But if someone knocks on the door before I go out, I shall be ignoring it.

  2. I’m a childfree guy too. I always hated dressing up so on Halloween, I stay home, shut all the lights off & close the blinds, get drunk & watch TV. I don’t like those annoying little brats either.

  3. It’s not too much of a horrible deal for me, because there aren’t that many kids that come around anymore. The trend of going door-to-door is falling out of fashion as parents get more worried about poisoned/sabotaged candy and kidnappers/child killers/pedophiles. They go to friends’ houses, local businesses, or find other ways to do (like that weird trunk-or-treat thing that doesn’t seem any better to me than going door-to-door but whatever). Plus, there were just a lot more kids on this block when I was a kid myself, so when you combine all of that together, we don’t usually get a whole lot of kids trick-or-treating at our door. So, we usually end up with a lot of left-over candy.

  4. I don’t really need to worry about Halloween at all with the trick-or-treaters. None of them have come to my door in the past five years anyway, and the only candy I buy is for MYSELF. The parents prefer to take their kids to upscale, richer neighborhoods that are better than the apartments I live in, or take them to retail outlets and other stores to beg for candy to be given to them by the cashiers at their store’s expense. THAT is what trick-or-treating is these days in my city.

Leave a Reply

