Shut Up About Santa Claus

I get so mad at people who teach their children to believe in Santa Claus. Or the Easter Bunny. Or the Tooth Fairy, for that matter. Seriously, it pisses me off beyond belief.

Why, you ask? It’s very simple, really: because it teaches your kids that it’s OK to tell lies. You know you’re lying through your teeth when you tell your kids Santa Claus, the Tooth Fairy, the Easter Bunny, etc. are real. There’s just no way around that fact. The fact of the matter is that they don’t exist, so telling someone they do exist is a lie. Period, end of story, do not pass go, do not collect $200. If anyone has any justification as to why it’s not a boldfaced lie, please entertain me in the comments section. I’d love to see you try to justify the unjustifiable.

Seriously, what’s going to happen when your kids find out? Why should they trust you to be honest with them once they know they’ve been lied to pretty much all their lives? How hurt are they going to be when they finally do figure out? I know I was really hurt when I figured it out.

Another reason it makes me mad is that it’s a form of mind control. I’m all for appropriate discipline and whatever, but using mind control to get your kids to behave is inexcusable. There’s nothing wrong with a good old fashioned butt busting when needed, USE IT. You don’t need to dupe your kids into believing some fictitious being is watching them and will give them nothing but a lump of coal for Christ-my-ass to get them to behave. Hmmm, sounds kind of like religion, doesn’t it? “Oh, believe in this or you’ll go to hell for eternity.” Yeah, my ass. I basically reasoned out that god/gods didn’t exist at the same time I figured out that Santa Claus didn’t exist. Hey, it was the most logical conclusion.

Now, what I *AM* OK with is playing these games with your kids as long as you make it known up-front that it’s all pretend. Yeah, you know they aren’t real, but it’s always fun to pretend and use your imagination, right? That’s perfectly cool with me. That way you’re not outright lying to your children, but it’s still fun for them.

Nonetheless, the bottom line is that telling your kids these fictional beings is real is nothing short of a lie, and you’re teaching your kids it’s OK to lie. Quit it.

About coolchildfreeguy

Childfree guy living in Mexico City. Professional pilot by day, all-around fun guy by night.

Posted on November 23, 2012, in Childfree, Parenting, Religion. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. My father had the same opinions you do regarding Santa, the Easter Bunny and the Tooth Fairy. He didn’t lie to us about anything, and we appreciated the honesty. My sister did not follow his example and her young daughter has recently discovered that Santa isn’t real. She is starting to question what else she has been lied to about and is disbelieving everything she is told by her parents now. My sister strongly regrets her decision.

  2. I am so glad someone else thinks this. I am still, at the age of 29, angry about the whole Santa thing. As you say, it teaches brats that lying is permissible – and it’s also such a massive letdown when you realise it’s fake. Okay, life is full of letdowns – but I’d rather be told that than have to learn about it first through these means.

    My mother continues to justify it on the grounds that it’s “magical [for children]”. No, it’s not really. It’s deceitful (and preposterously unscientific when an intelligent child bothers to think about it.) Really unfair.

    Obviously since I’m childfree it’s in a sense moot to me, but I always swore that if I did procreate, my offspring would not be party to this bullshit. As it is, I have a lot of young cousins that are being fed it, and I feel I’m being put in an unfair position in that I’m meant to play along with this nonsense.

    That said, I’ve already told one of them I think the whole God thing is nonsense. At the risk of being excommunicated from the family further, I really want to tell him to question this wank as well.

  3. It is a total lie. And in addition to teaching kids they can’t always trust what their parents say, it also teaches them that it’s okay for certain people to break into your house, and that it’s okay to take presents and stuff from strangers. In addition to that, very little children are often afraid of Santa and the Easter Bunny (you know those times when a parent or other relative dresses up the part, or visits to them at the mall). My sister’s first son was afraid of Santa when he was little and they visited a mall Santa, so she just told him not to worry because Santa isn’t real and took the same approach from then on with all those other fake beings (except god, because she’s apparently very religious now…) with him and when she had her second child she didn’t even bother trying to teach him those things were real. I figure she’ll do the same with her third.

    I don’t like the deception and I’m not around kids very often so I haven’t been put in a situation where I have to play along. I hope that I never am. <<; There are others in the family who teach their kids this crap, but I'm not around them so I don't have to play along.

    My mother and grandparents lied to me a lot when I was young, so I rarely believed anything they said without some sort of proof. And even then I remained skeptical on a lot of things because I felt the proof they provided at first was flimsy. I worked out that Santa wasn't real when I was 3 and it was no big deal to me. I did pretend for years after that, though, that I believed because I had this weird idea in my head that if my grandpa found out I didn't he would be very sad. I don't know where I got that impression, though. :p

    What I have an even bigger problem with, is the people who not just teach their own kids that these things are real, but then get literally pissed off and go into tirades at the very mention of parents that teach their kids these things AREN'T real. That try to say that somehow by telling their kids Santa, the Easter Bunny, the Tooth Fairy and all these other things aren't real that you are somehow "taking away the innocence" of your children. As if their innocence hinges on the idea that Santa and these other imaginary things are real. Which is preposterous. I'm not sure if I'm more irritated with the sheer gall of it or with the sheer stupidity of it.

    There are lots of reasons not to teach kids that these asinine things are real. I wish more people would take the, "it's a nice story but it's not real" approach to this stuff when raising their kids, and that more people wouldn't throw hissy fits when other parents DO choose not to teach their kids these things are real.

  4. You described it perfectly, friend! If you expect your kids to be honest with them, then you should be honest too! Stop talking a lot of bullshit about Santa and the Easter Bunny. Tell your kids that they didn’t get the Xbox they wanted because you simply couldn’t AFFORD IT, not because “Santa” thought they weren’t good enough. Parents justify the Santa lie by saying they want their kids to believe in the “magic of Christmas.” WHAT MAGIC IS THERE??? I have been around for 27 Christmas seasons and find nothing magical about it especially when I am a Retail employee who has to deal with customers screaming at me on Christmas Eve because I’m closing the store at 8 p.m. and they didn’t have the guts to do their Christmas shopping before that. Is it “magic” that I don’t punch them in the face after hearing such insults or simply my tolerance? But having to work overtime just because people want to buy their crap and brag about the “magic of Christmas” and “Santa Claus” is a stupid waste of time.

  5. jessicaintheforest

    I agree entirely! These parents are disgusting as well as brainwashing religion into children.

  6. I feel like I was reading something I wrote… I feel the same way! My parents divorced and my mother raised my brother and me to believe in all that hocus pocus bologna, so when my father decided one day to tell us that all of it wasn’t real, we were heartbroken and devastated. Why lie to your children in the first place when you’ll have to admit those lies years later and have your children heartbroken and devastated and really despise your guts for a while? It makes no sense to me.

    I told my mother that if I ever have children (god forbid, childfreedom is the only way to go!) that I wouldn’t raise them to believe in all that crap. Sure, I’ll tell them the actual legends of Santa Claus and all that and let their imaginations run wild with stories, but I won’t tell them that these magical beings are real. My mother basically threw a fit and said she’d tell them they’re real. Yeah… no.

    Thanks for another fantastic post!

  7. I think the best way to respond is to recommend a book by Paul Eckman – Telling Lies!

Leave a Reply

