Personal Update

Just figured I’d let you know what’s been going on with my life and why blogs have been incredibly sparse as of late.

Basically, my life has turned to complete shit. I had to leave my company due to bullying on the job. I just couldn’t take it anymore. Went to self-employment (as I really can’t do any other sort of work due to my incredible introversion) doing clock repair and flight instruction and I’m doing OK but not overly so. I’ve had falling outs with several friends and what little family I had left. My cat passed away due to complications from a severe hernia and my dog had to be put to sleep because he started showing signs of rage syndrome.

Needless to say I’ve been incredibly depressed the past few months, to the point I’m barely able to function anymore. I think it’s safe to say that I haven’t had the energy to come up with blog topics as of recently, though I do appreciate my loyal fans for staying with me during this time.

In happier news, during this time of psuedo-unemployment I’ve decided to devote the next several months to travel. In July I’ll be heading to England for probably around 4 months to tour bell towers. As an avid change ringer it’s been one of my dreams to go on a bell ringing tour for a long time now. Living in a place I hardly get to do any (North America) due to a limited number of available towers, it will be a breath of fresh air to be able to grab a new bell tower virtually every day (it’s not hard to find a nearby tower in England and many of them stagger their practice nights so that you can go to one practice one night and then somewhere else another), staying in other ringers’ houses (they’re always glad to put you up in my experience) and hopping from village to village via public transit. It’s my goal to grab at least 100 towers, and I do have some must-grabs on the list (Liverpool Anglican Cathedral, Worcester Cathedral, York Minster, Exeter Cathedral, Southwark Cathedral, among others), but from there I’ll probably just kind of play it by ear.

Afterwards it’ll be to Japan for a couple of months. My mother’s side of the family hails from Japan and I’ve always wanted to go explore the area from which I descend. Go hiking in the mountains, see the big cities, attend some festivals, you name it.

I’m kind of hoping my travels will re-invigorate me and convince me to carry on with life. If they don’t, and I crash upon returning home, well, I’ve decided I’ll probably wind up putting a bullet through my skull. I can’t continue to live like this. It’s just too difficult.

It’s sure amazing being CF sometimes. To be able to just drop everything and do such travel would be impossible without children. Hell, if I decide that terminating my existence is the solution to my problems, again that’s made a feasible and possible choice by being CF as I don’t have any kids I’m responsible for. In that light, my passing wouldn’t negatively affect anyone. Being CF sure is great. šŸ˜›

Anyway, I do apologize again for not blogging so much recently. I’ll do my best to try to make more regular posts.

About coolchildfreeguy

Childfree guy living in Mexico City. Professional pilot by day, all-around fun guy by night.

Posted on May 15, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I’m sorry to hear you’re going through such a rough time. When you do leave for your traveling, I hope it will help you pull through. šŸ™‚

  2. Really sorry to hear that things are so crap at the minute. Obviously your readers would love to hear from you regularly, but only blog when it’s right for you! I really hope your travels bring you joy, and you’ll be able to return to life as you knew it before all this awful shit happened.

    Take care, and good luck šŸ™‚

  3. Can’t you just get started in a different career path?

    • It’s not that easy for someone on the autism spectrum. There are very, very few jobs I’m capable of holding down for more than a week and most of those I have absolutely no interest in.

  4. I figure I’m going to take the big, dirt nap soon enough anyway, might as well ride it out until it comes

  5. Wish I could travel anywhere but I am stuck here since I have no money, hate my job (or any job really) and cant really save for travel anyways due to debt. Thats the only time I talk about my personal life since you mentioned it yourself. Antinatalism doesn’t really require one to ever engage in personal descriptions anyways (as you mentioned in your other entry) but it surely helps put things in perspective. Life is futile hell and an imposition. Thankfully, no one from my bloodline will have to experience this hell.

  6. Please come back – whether you see it or not, you have purpose. I have always thought that when all my furbabies are gone, there is nothing else to live for and that a bullet would do the trick quite nicely, too. It isnt easy being someone with a differing view point. It feels like walking down a long road waist deep in mud. Jobs, though neccessary, dont define you. Why arent you writing a book on your views? Why dont we have a magazine dedicated to the childfree person or couple? Where is our advocate extoling the virtues of being childfree… on an emotional level? We have the stats to back us up but if the pronatalists use emotion, we can, too. Come back please, this dialogue is not only helpful but it is mind bendingly fun.

Leave a Reply

