Required Reading

The following books should be required reading in all schools all around the world:

*Better Never to Have Been: The Harm of Coming into Existence (David Benatar)
*Conspiracy Against the Human Race: A Contrivance of Horror (Thomas Ligotti)
*The Trouble with Being Born (Emil Cioran)
*Confessions of an Antinatalist (Jim Crawford)

This is a short list, but I believe if, after reading all of these books, you’re still a pronatalist and/or a Pollyanna, you’re a fucking idiot. That’s all there is to it.

About coolchildfreeguy

Childfree guy living in Mexico City. Professional pilot by day, all-around fun guy by night.

Posted on October 15, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. I would switch Confessions of an Antinatalist for the eventual (hopefully next year!) English translation of L’Art de Guillotiner Les Procreateurs by Theophile de Giraud, the French version of which I’ve reviewed here:
    http://francoistremblay.wordpress.com/2014/09/30/review-of-lart-de-guillotiner-les-procreateurs-by-theophile-de-giraud/

    I would also highly recommend some Alice Miller books, to teach why pedagogy does not work and how deeply in denial most people are about their childhood and childhood damage.

  2. I’m against required reading as a whole. Having been subjected to it and finding everything wrong with what was required, and loving books that I wasn’t required to read, I find it useless. Required reading is one person’s opinion about what everyone should read. In reality, you should read what you’re interested in and become an expert. Then, listen and debate with people who believe the opposite about your subject.
    I was not required to read Uncle Tom’s Cabin, for example, and, out of curiosity, read it as an adult and loved it. I think I would have had a really hard time with it as a kid, though.

  3. I haven’t read these books but, out of curiosity, I read through a page of quotes from “The Trouble with Being Born.”
    This guy simply didn’t have a purpose. He says it there. He didn’t see the point. And, without God, there really isn’t much of a point. But God IS here! All of these books go on the premise that there is no point to life. But if you believe there is, all of these book’s arguments go out the window and they’re just sad biographies.

    • Well, there’s no scientific evidence that any god exists so I see no reason to believe such.

      • There’s also no scientific evidence that He doesn’t exist… πŸ™‚ Also, I’m sorry, but I have a really hard time believing that everything was an accident, lol. What kind of a mathematical probability is THAT? πŸ™‚

    • “But God IS here!”

      How about you offer up some scientific evidence for that bold claim?

      • There are lots of arguments I could make. You’ve probably heard many of them. Let’s see… I first believed God existed when I was young and started thinking about how dumb the evolutionary theory was. There’s lots of reasons that I still believe the evolutionary theory is dumb. Human beings, just our brains and our ability to think and grasp concepts like love or purpose… there is no way that was an accident or the product of random mutations. I’ve seen mutations close and personal!! They’re gross! And the odd thing is, mutations have never been seen to be positive!! Anyway. This leads to the thought: there has to be something more out there. Otherwise, how did we get here? Aliens? Maybe. Where did the aliens come from? And on and on and on and on. Something started this whole thing. God is the logical answer. Then, I investigated different religions and found the one that made the most logical sense.
        But, the big question is: what if He does? Scientifically, no one can prove the absence of something like a god. Also, evolution can’t be proven because it hasn’t been observed (without a doubt) and it’s not repeatable. Blah blah blah blah. πŸ™‚

      • I have heard every one of those excuses and find them all lacking. Sorry, there’s just nothing there. Further, if god exists, as I mentioned earlier, I believe him/her to be evil so I still would not worship an entity that is in my mind evil.

      • What would you do, if you were god? If you had created a world of beings that, contrary to some of your creations, had the choice to follow your laws or not?

      • No. I would not have created anything at all knowing that existence is inherently harmful and I would be sparing billions and billions of creatures (human and otherwise) from having to experience pain.

      • What if, though, existence is a chance to experience and know what good and bad is? What if existence means hope? What if life isn’t all about pain vs. pleasure? How would that change how you view the world?
        Now, I’d like to add this: logically, a worldview without a god, without a purpose, leads to the conclusions that you’ve drawn. You’re more logical than most atheists or the people who just don’t care enough to think, ha ha.

      • It’s better never to know bad even if it means never knowing good. The notion of hope is one of delusion much like the notion of god or some sort of driving purpose.

        As an ex-Christian, my worldview has already shifted, so there’s nothing you haven’t already told me that I haven’t come to dismiss as nonsense over the years.

      • Besides, strictly scientifically, you can’t prove God DOESN’T exist, either. πŸ™‚
        Why are you an ex-Christian?

      • Simply put because Christianity makes no logical sense and is a ripoff of so many religions before it (look up the likes of Dionysus and similar figures – the story is all the same: executed, risen from the dead three days later, blah blah blah).

      • Sorry, I went to bed. πŸ™‚ Actually, Christianity does make a lot of logical sense. But there’s arguments on both side. I looked up Dionysus, interesting story, and I think I found the site you learned this from. However, nowhere in the Bible does it say Jesus was born on December 25. Also, Dionysus was the god of fertility/wine/riotous behavior, so stories of him turning water into wine make sense. The account of Jesus turning water into wine would be easy, though, as well. With all the miracles he did, turning water into wine wouldn’t be difficult. Besides, it was verified with eyewitnesses and recorded not too long after Jesus’ death. This is definitely not the case with Greek mythology. And the story of Dionysus being torn apart and his mother eating his heart, to be born again? Ew, first, not the same thing as Jesus dying on a cross, wrongly accused because of jealous peers. Second, Jesus wasn’t born a second time. He came back to life. πŸ™‚ Just because there are a few vague similarities doesn’t make them both untrue. Also, most sites I went to said that Dionysus wasn’t born of a virgin, he was a “god” born of Zeus and Semele. I saw one that was kind of weird and claimed to draw parallels, but it wasn’t as credible and contradicted many of the other sites I went to that talked about Dionysus. πŸ™‚
        Interesting study, though. The only thing I knew about Dionysus was his portrayal in Percy Jackson, ha ha. But that depiction is fairly well-researched, from what I saw. πŸ™‚ Anyway. πŸ™‚

  4. Sounds like our bookshelves would have a lot of matching titles. I just found your blog today, and reading it and getting a sense of your worldview and philosophical position is like looking in a mirror. We’re half a world apart geographically, but in complete alignment thought-wise, whether it’s about birthdays, or friends and family having babies, or how we feel about our mothers. I feel like I have found a kindred spirit in this blog (as a fellow atheist antinatalist) and I intend to devour all your posts. I just loved your perspective on what depression is. I get you, you get me, and there’s a strange sense of comfort in that. Best wishes, as your journey winds down. When it’s over, I won’t grieve, but I will be happy that, for you, this “life sentence” will finally be over.

Leave a Reply

